JCapper Message Board
|| Pim R3 5/16/14
|Did anyone have a chance to watch this race? If so, can anyone explain WHAT happened at the end with Graced (#3). To me it did not look like anything with the horse. Of course, I am no expert but even if there was and being that close to the finish line wouldn't the rider just try and push a little further anyway in reality?|
|Watching the pan shot replay, I thought the rider misjudged the finish line and stood up/began pulling the horse up with about 40 yds still to go.|
Based on what I could see of the gallup out, the horse doesn't appear to be in distress - which leads me to stick to my original call: The rider misjudged the finish.
Apparently, the chart caller saw it the same way - noting in his comments that the rider began pulling up about 40 yds from the finish.
Interestingly enough, here is a cut and paste of the full race conditions, with the bolded red font added by me for emphasis:
"6.0 Furlongs (Dirt) A Alw 52000nw1 Purse $52,000.00 FOR THREE YEAR OLDS AND UPWARD WHICH HAVE NEVER WON A RACE OTHER THAN MAIDEN; CLAIMING; STARTER OR WAIVER CLAIMING OR WHICH HAVE NEVER WON TWO RACES AND EIGHT RIDERS WILL BE DRAWN BY LOT. Trainers do not name riders. Each trainer who enters and runs their horse will receive a $500 bonus. Field is limited to eight horses to start. Preference dates do not count for this race. Three Year Olds; 123 lbs.; Older; 128 lbs. Non-winners Of A Race Other Than Claiming Since March 16 Allowed 2 lbs. Such A Race SinceFebruary 16 Allowed 4 lbs."--end quote
According to the 365 day stats, the rider in question here, CLARK-ROGERS STACIE, was the most accomplished rider in the race - having just one previous mount in the past year which resulted in a 2nd place finish.
EDIT: I now see that the "name of race" field in the Equibase data reads: "Lady Legends for the Cure."
All of the riders are women and I'm guessing the track made a charitable donation in conjunction with this race.
Unfortunate/bizarre set of circumstances to say the least for anyone who bet on #3 Graced.
~Edited by: jeff on: 5/16/2014 at: 1:36:28 PM~
|Jockey makes costly mistake in Lady Legends race|
By MIKE FARRELL, Associated Press
Updated 4:22 pm, Friday, May 16, 2014
Link to article at CTpost.com:
"Everything was going great and I just screwed up and misjudged the wire," Clark-Rogers said. "It's been a while since I hit the wire first."--end quote
|I feel bad for the jockey now. I just never seen a rider misjudge the finish line by that far before. The length of time between races and the bad/sloppy tkcond probably didn't help either.|